All Right Reserved

Raghav srivathsav V of Telengana won the south Asian Amateur chess championship 2016 and cash prize of Rs. 2.00 Lacs alongwith medal and trophy held at Gurjar desh charitable trust ,Channi Himmat,bye pass,Jammu. Suresh P K of kerela won the second prize and cash prize of Rs. 1.25 lacs along-with medal and trophy . S.Mithilesh Kumar of delhi won the third prize and cash prize of Rs.1.00 Lac alongwith medal and trophy. Among J&k Players Meenal gupta kept the J&K Flag high and was top scorer with seven points out of 9 and remained undefeated in the whole event and won best U-15 Girls prize.45 J&kState players participated in this event .


Another J&K player Arushi kotwal also played well and won best U-13 girls prize. Players from record 28states of India are participated in this event.Cash Prizes worthRs.10.00 Lacs were distributed among the winners alongwith trophies and medals cash prizes were given upto 55 positins and also among soecial categories..The main sponsorer of the event is J&k State sports council while Sri MataVaishno DeviShrine Board also supported this event.

Health Minister sh.Bali Bhagat was the chief guest on the occassion while Additional CEO Sri mata vaishno devi shrine board Sh. Piyush singla IAS and Sh.Shiv Kumar sharma Joint secretary J&k sports council were guests of honour. Sh.Rajan sharma divisional sports officer jammu,Sh,Ravi sing Manager M.A.Stadium,Dr.Harleen kour,Dr.sandeep singh were special guests.14professional Arbiters worked for smooth conduct of this event.while Srivatsan R was chief Arbiter for this event.Minister appreciated the efforts of All J&k Chess Association for organizing such historic event in J&k and said that such event will go a long way in promoting tourism in J&K and give good message to the world about hospitality of J&K. Total 9 round under swiss system were played in this first ever mega International event in J&K.Also present on the occasion were Atul Kumar Gupta President AJKCA who is also Joint secretary All India chess Federation,, Ashiq Ahmad Kolu General secretary,A.R.Wani senior vice president AJKCA,Baldev Raj and Taranvir singh vice presidents,Khalid AminTreasurer,Kuljeet Jamwal Press secretary,Vikas Nanda Coordinator, Dr.A.S.Bhatia Advisor, Iftiqar rashid wani joint secretary,Raj Kumar and Rakesh gupta.
It was a very tough competition overall and J&K Players got lot of exposure in this first ever mega event in history of J&k.